Conversation with yourself

This assignment entitled have a conversation with yourself was required and 5 stars however it should break the star ranking because it was incredibly challenging. I’m taking a break from trying to complete it to write about what I have done thus far. So at first I thought I’ll just sing a song and put it in the new acapella app that everyone is using and that will be a lot easy then this assignment. However, after recording myself and listening to me sing and entire song I decided not to do that. However, I might just do the singing assignment and pray no one I know ever finds it.

So after deciding to do the video assignment I recorded myself on one side of the couch in a dress complaining about a volleyball game and asking questions that most people ask when we watch volleyball together. Then I played that audio through headphone and recorded myself in Longhorn gear watching a volleyball game and responding back to the questions. I then began looking for ideas on how to overlap the two videos. Eventually, I found this video:

Which I was really excited about until a minute in it states you cant do it with Windows Movie Maker. He then says that there is another program Windows Expression Encoder that allows you to overlay. So I download that and get to work and it’s not what I want. This program allows you to put a video on top of a video however you can’t make in opaque. So there’s just two videos playing at once. I then looked up and downloaded some other ideas and then didn’t work. I tried looking at other projects but it seemed everyone was just recording them selves at different angle so you only saw one person at a time. This was not what the assignment asked for so I decided to keep looking and trying different things. I tried the tutorial that was made but it was only if you had certain software which I didn’t have. I then tried to use my roommates Mac and do it on iMovie but my roommates iMovie wasn’t updating and after trying to update it for over a day I decided to try different ways. I thought maybe if I could crop one of the videos I could overlap it in Windows Expression Encoder. And this too failed because the software I used to crop it does not allow you to save it in the file that Microsoft Expression Encoder uses. I tried time and time again to convert the file and open it but it did not work.

d

Here’s the 2 videos I filmed in Windows Movie Maker. I filmed them with Movie Maker through my computer.

c

This is the program I downloaded to crop the video.

b

a

And this is what it looked like to crop the video. This was a very useful program however it didn’t allow me to convert the video to a different file. So after trying and trying to do this I finally decided to do it a different way. I would film two videos like a facetime and that way there were two people in the shot at once and it was more difficult then filming just from angles but it didn’t require me to overlap two images.

So I filmed the two videos in Widows Movie Maker. However I found out that you can’t edit the videos if you want to put them in Windows Encrypter Encoded. Which desn’t makes sense since they’re both Windows programs but you cant so I then recorded it multiple time until it lined up perfectly. Here is my scrips for the video:

Hey oh my gosh I miss you soooo much

Same how’s school?

Ugh really good. I love all of my classes, but I have this one online class called digital storytelling and we have an assignment this week that we have to have a conversation with ourselves and like put two of us in one video and I’ve been tryng to do it all day yesterdat and for hours today and I just cant figure it out

Hmmm wow that sounds really challenging! Is this one of those star videos you talked about where you can do any combination?

Yeah it’s one of those but this one is required

Dang that sucks… hmm have you tried doing it on a mac?

Yeha I tried for about 3 hours on a Mac using iMovie and some really fancy $600 dollar video editing tool, but to no avail.

Have you heard of Windows Encoder Encrypter it lets you overlay videos? Maybe that will work

Yeah I tried that to but it just takes the whole video and placed it on top so I had two couches. So I downloaded an application to crop the video but then once you crop it the format cant go into Eindows Encoded Encrypter.

Dang so what are you going to do?

Well I worked with Erin my suitemate for a couple hours trying to figure it out and I’ve googles everything under the sun and then I asked someone in my class and they just changed the angles Which I feel isn’t what it is asking for but  that what everyone is doing. So I’m just going to have to do something like that.

Hmm well I really hope that works for you! I’ll let you go so you can get to work!

Okay wish me luck! I’ll facetime you after I finish!

Good luck!

11

So I recorded the two videos in Windows Movie Maker and then had to play one in Windows Expression Encoder while I recorded the other to get the timing right.

1

Here’s what it looked like in Expression Encoder. However, I can only open it with that so I can’t upload it so I’m just going to upload the individual videos because that’s the best I can do. But I tried extremely hard to get this to work. Also if you just play the videos at the same time they should respond to each other so basically the same thing!

x Kelsey

Leave a Reply

