How to be a better photographer

Photography yay! I’m very excited for this section!

The three tips I chose to examine are

  1. Look to the light
  2. Change my perspective by changing yours
  3. Use the best lens

The first one I played with when I did my first daily create I used the different lights in my room to create different effects.

IMG_5024 IMG_5023 IMG_5022IMG_5021

The first picture has no lighting, the second one had both the main lap and a desk lap on, the third picture has the main lamp off, but the desk lamp on and shining directly on me, and the last picture was the one I turned in before playing with lighting. These pictures really demonstrate the effect of lighting on a picture. The first picture with no lamps on looks very grainy and fuzzy, while the other pictures were taken with the same device and don’t have that effect to them. I also looked up some photography lighting tips and found a couple that I really liked:

  1. The broader the light source, the softer the light. The narrower the source, the harder the light. A broad light source lessens shadows, reduces contrast, suppresses texture. A narrow light source does the opposite.
  2. The closer the light source, the softer the light. The farther the source, the harder the light. This stands to reason: Move a light closer, and you make it bigger—that is, broader—in relation to your subject.
  3. The farther the light source, the more it falls off— gets dimmer on your subject. The rule says that light falls off as the square of the distance. That sounds complicated, but isn’t really. If you move a light twice as far from your subject, you end up with only one-quarter of the light on the subject.

The second one was something that always strikes my interest. When I write I really like to watch the pen glide on the paper. I know this sounds weird but you know how some people find satisfaction from really well organized things well I like when the pen writes on the paper and I always thought that would be cool to record or something. So to demonstrate perspective in photography I took burst of me writing at different angles.

IMG_5152  IMG_5164  IMG_5201  IMG_5236  IMG_5253 IMG_5270  IMG_5294

I really likes how the angles changed the composition of the photo so drastically. My personal favorites are the second one from the side and the second to last one from the very bottom. In the second one I like how everything is really crispy and focused and how you can really see my hand and the tip of the pen. This is also the angle that I see it from while I’m writing with my head down. The second to last one I like how its unfocused and the lines are so fuzzy I like how you can’t read what I am writing, it gives it a mysterious feeling. I found a bunch of photography tips dealing with perspective on this webpage. Some of the perspectives include: Linear perspective is when relative size, shape, and position of objects are determined by drawn or imagined lines converging at a point on the horizon. Rectilinear is typical of what the human sees, lines that are straight remain straight. Vanishing point perspective deals with lines that are parallel to each other being perpendicular to the lens axis.


The third tip was to use different lens so I took three different pictures. This is the view I have while at work so I thought it would be cool to take pictures of what I stare at all day with different lenses to give myself a new perspective or outlook. The first one I used a regular lens and the other two I used fisheye lenses. The second one I had the fisheye lens horizontal and the third one the fisheye lens was vertical.

IMG_5305 IMG_5313 IMG_5312

I think the fisheye lens looks better than the regular lens. I feel as if it give the photo a new dimension and makes it look more 3D. Personally I like the vertical fisheye better and how it expands the floor more than the horizontal fisheye. Since I worked with the fisheye lens I looked up tips for that and found 5 Ways to Get Creative with a Fisheye Lens and 7 Tips to Master Your Fisheye Lens. Some of the best tips I learned were:

  • Use the edges: Fine details and subjects become lost when placed in the center of the frame, they should be placed close to the camera and along the edge.
  • Tilt up or down: The picture really changes depending on how you tilt it. Tilting upwards makes the sky bend towards the viewer, making the sky seem like a planet (in terms of the roundness and size). Tilting downwards will make the ground become a “planet”.
  • You can use the fisheye lens to exaggerate the curvature of the Earth by moving an object or line to the edge of the frame.
  • You can also use the lens to capture a picture of a whole ceiling.

I really enjoyed this assignment and learning new tips about photography. I’m excited to add these tips into my pictures throughout this course.

x Kelsey

One thought on “How to be a better photographer

Leave a Reply

