Slowin’ it way down- Audio assignment 1423

The final audio assignment I did this week was 3 stars entitled “Make it 800% slower.”  For this assignment you have to take a song and slow it down to make it sound almost like classical music. The example was U Smile by Justin Bieber. I decided to do Life Happens by Brandon and Leah.

I was trying to figure out how to get a YouTube video into Audacity so I googled it. And this is what I found:

  • Step 1: Install ClipGrab. First of all, you need to install ClipGrab . …
  • Step 2: Copy the video link. …
  • Step 3: Insert the video link in ClipGrab. …
  • Step 4: Select download format and quality. …
  • Step 5: Grab that clip!

So I installed ClipGrab, but couldn’t figure out how to open it, it just kept installing. So I just recorded the song from my phone to Audacity.

While trying to figure out how to get a YouTube video to Audacity (PS if you have any advice please share) I looked at blog post from other people who did this assignment and I found a blog that was helpful in another way. Although the blog, that the blog I was reading, got the information from was shut down, she summed up what she learned enough for me to use their information. She states

Instead of changing the speed of the song using the :change speed button” he suggested that instead you use the “paulstretch” effect. Which basically slows down the song without changing the pitch.

After discovering this glorious tool, the assignment became much easier.

So the first thing I did was play around with the “paulstretch” effect. This effect took approximately 20 minutes to change the original recording, so I was hoping I got it right the first time! And I did! The stretched version sounds very haunted and like a spooky scene in a movie. It seems to be very heavily played by a violin. Because it takes so long to save and upload the videos I’m only going to upload a portion of the stretched version because it is over 2 and a half hours long. Also the song just repeats itself the whole time, so it’s basically the same thing just repeated. I shorted it to about 3 minutes and 30 seconds. I felt like that length encompassed a good amount of sound and was short enough to listen to the whole thing and long enough to get a good idea of how the song sounds slowed down.

The story behind the story: I chose this assignment because it seemed like a fun way to get accustomed to a new Audacity tool. I also thought it would be fun to work with music. I chose Life Happens because I was interested in how the indie, reggae sound would sound slowed way down. I was surprised by how scary and creepy the music sounds. I think this demonstrates the work that goes into music and all the small pieces that make up a song.

2 thoughts on “Slowin’ it way down- Audio assignment 1423

  1. Hey Kelsey!

    Your project turned out AWESOME! It sounds like a soundtrack to a very scary movie! The slow, pensive kind of scary. It’s hard to believe that it’s the same song.
    I use ClipGrab and I really like it. I’m not sure if you have a Mac or not (or if that even makes a difference) but it works very well on my Mac and I had no issues installing it. If I ever use it again for an assignment i’ll try to make a detailed video of how I use it and maybe it can help you in the future.
    Overall, your project turned out really great and I think your improvisation game is on point. 🙂
    Don’t forget to write the “story behind the story”. Mrs. Polack has taken points off for me for not doing that in some of my previous posts. #talkingpolack106

    Have a nice day!

    -Maryna

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you this comment was very helpful.
      I don’t have a Mac, but I feel like they are very helpful when it comes to editing videos and such. I will have to put some more time into figuring out ClipGrab!
      What do you mean by the “story behind the story”?

      Like

Leave a Reply

