Appearances reflection

IMG_4458 IMG_4554IMG_4558     IMG_4555  IMG_4556

I named my topic Appearances, because everything is not always as it seems. The story I hope to tell with these pictures is that a girl sees a huge creepy shadow on her ceiling and is scared she then peers under her bed and finds that the huge shadow is made by a small toy, she’s relived and soon falls asleep cuddling the toy. I put the photos in black and white to appear more creepy and show that the story takes place in the middle of the night. The phrase “A picture is worth a thousand words” is a very common phrase that I have often used, but I have never thought about pictures as really telling a story so this was a really cool assignment to do that broadened up my view of digital/visual storytelling.

I also am so amused by the Digital Storytelling community, it never ceases to amaze me. It is so large and involved. I’ve never realized how many thing people who don’t know each other can create. Such as the poem that we wrote on twitter this week for a daily create and now this Flickr group. Which has 12,786 members, 216 photos, and 4,716 discussions. This really makes me think about how we use the internet. It almost seems like a waste to use it for social media purposes. It’s like the examples given in Wesch and Campbell; we have so much power in technology and we use it to keep tabs of friends and significant others and for superficial reasons. WE CAN CHANGE THE WORLD and yet we don’t know how to use this power we encompass. I am looking forward to the rest of the weeks and learning how to use technology to better myself and others.

x Kelsey

Leave a Reply

